A quickie about strawberries

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A quickie about strawberries

In the garden I've got a planter with 6 strawberry plants (well, 5 actually, one never grew after planting out and seems totally dead now) which gave up a little bit of fruit this summer (most of which were stolen by the local birdies).

Some advice I saw was to harvest from them for 3 years then "scalp" them.
    Does that just mean to cut the greenery off? Is that meant to achieve anything other than killing it?

Some other advice I saw was to cut the leaves off around now but that doesn't sound right to me somehow.

I'm somewhat at a loss.

What should I be doing with the things?

I believe that after 3 years you should get rid of the parent plants & keep crops going from the runners they produce. I am no expert & stand corrected from one of the Guru's.
    sigpic“Gorillas are very intelligent, but they don't have to be as delicate as chimps -- they can just smash open the termite nest,”
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Official Member Of The Nutters Club - Rwanda Branch.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Sent from my ZX Spectrum with no predictive text..........
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    KOYS - King Of Yellow Stickers..............

Comment

After three years scalp them? Are you sure they didn't say scrap them? Like Bigmally said they generally last 3 years before they lose their vigour alhtough apparently they can go on longer. As for the leaves - not sure. I thought you were just supposed to leave them. The leaves will die off eventually I would've thought and then produce new ones come spring.

Comment

You should take off the old dying leaves in autumn, along with any runners you don't want.
        Leaving dying leaves to rot around the plant will only encourage slugs, woodlice and fungal diseases.