Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asparagus Advice!

Hi All, looking for a little advice!

As some will know we've recently taken on our first allotment, which has stood abandoned for the past 12 months and we have been clearing like mad for the past 2 weeks!

We were told by the neighbours that there was some Asparagus in the plot somewhere, and whilst clearing it we have found it, 3 stems / plants that have now been down for 3 years! It's planted in an 8' by 10' bed, centrally along a groove and spread out about 3' apart, with carpet and black polythene covering the rest of the bed. We have no idea what variety of Asparagus it is, but the previous tennant didnt mind spending money on quality seeds and plants!

Now, as complete novices we know nothing about cultivating Asparagus, but it seems like a large bed for only 3 plants, does it need this much room, or should we consider planting something else along the edges or perhaps some more Asparagus Crowns (been looking in Moles seed catalogue!)

Any and all advice would be most welcome, especially any info on how to look after our Asparagus, its planting density and cropping for the area we have!
    Blessings
    Suzanne (aka Mrs Dobby)

'Garden naked - get some colour in your cheeks'!

The Dobby's Pumpkin Patch - an Allotment & Beekeeping blogspot!
    Last updated 16th April - Video intro to our very messy allotment!
    Dobby's Dog's - a Doggy Blog of pics n posts - RIP Bella gone but never forgotten xx
    On Dark Ravens Wing - a pagan blog of musings and experiences

Mrs D,

You might find this link useful...

http://tinyurl.com/qkpy7

PP

Comment

PP - can't seem to get anything on that link.

Mrs D -We live quite near to you and also grow asparagus ( about 10 green and 10 purple) and this has been our 2nd year with them. The plants were 3 yrs old this year and we were able to crop from them for the first time. Don't know much about them , but will pass on what I know!