Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parsnips - free with sae!

Hi all

This is my first year growing parsnips, but I'm aware that the seeds don't keep, and on my tiny lottie there's no way I can use all 575 that came in the packet!

So, after starting my first batch chitting in the airing cupboard, saving some as backup and selling a few more at work, I still have two small plastic ziplock bags with about 100 seeds in each. So, PM me if you are interested, send me an SAE and they will be yours in time to sow them this year! Not looking to swap for anything, as my seed tin is packed full again, thanks to kind swappers here on the Grapevine

They are "Tender and True", organically certified and bought fresh earlier this year:

The Organic Gardening Catalogue

I had a packet of tender and true and hundreds of seed, i only actually got about 10 parsnips of eating size out of it in the end...

Comment

Well, we'll see - I don't have room to sow hundreds indoors, and I don't see why I should feed the slugs on the lottie with them either!

Comment

Originally posted by zazen999 View Post
        I had a packet of tender and true and hundreds of seed, i only actually got about 10 parsnips of eating size out of it in the end...
        me too ..... sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings

Comment

I ended up with 5 parnips, out of 3 rows sown twice.

They were good though.

Comment

oh yes very yummy

Comment

I'm still keeping my fingers crossed - my lottie neighbours grew loads of them last year, and East Anglian soil is notoriously good for root crops. I get lovely big carrots from my lottie, providing I can keep the slugs from mowing down the seedlings

Comment

I didn't have any probs with slugs, the deer were another story, they like the leaves.
                I will net them this year if they come up

Comment

any left??? I would really like some please
                  Dont worry about tomorrow, live for today

Comment