Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pumpkin problems

Hi.
    I've got some Baby bear pumkins growing. It's my first time growing veg and my pumpkins are the ones I'm most looking forward to out of all I've planted. Until today it was all going fine, however one of the plants has been hit by two things.
    Some leaves have developed a yellow spotting. I don't think it's Mosaic virus but I could be wrong. Does anyone have any ideas?
    Also, the first pumpkin that was developing I found today detatched on the soil with a large hole in it. Does anyone recognise the damage as Slugs/Snails or Mice? The pumpkin was about 2cm round. I'm hoping slugs as atleast I have measures at hand for dealing with them.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've attatched a couple of reference shots.

thanks

jim
    Attached Files

Hi JimineyC

I can't hekp with the rusty spots. Hope it's nothing too serious as I think I've seen some on mine this year..

The hole - definately looks like something's been at it as you can almost see the teeth marks!

It might be mice, but do you have chickens? Mine absolutely butchered one of my butternut squash last year and it looks similar...
    Shortie

"There are only two lasting bequests we can hope to give our children; one of these is roots, the other wings" - Hodding Carter

Comment

Piccie 1 could be red spider mite, have a look underneath the leaves & see if you can see something brown moving around they are only just about visible to the naked eye. If it is this spray with soapy water & it'll kill them off eventually, the 2nd one I would say is SLug damage. It may have been started off by a bird pecking at it but it looks like slugs to me.
      ntg
      Never be afraid to try something new.
      Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
      A large group of professionals built the Titanic
      ==================================================

Comment