Runner beans - flowers falling off

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Runner beans - flowers falling off

This is my first time on the Grapevine, and I am quite new to GYO. I am trying runner beans for the first time this year, and have chosen dwarf varieties because my plot is quite small. My plants have quite a few flowers on them, but they seem to be falling off without any beans appearing. What should I do?

Hello Cathy, if your beans look otherwiswe healthy I don't think you need to worry. Water them a bit more and give some feed. You can't keep a good bean down. They will soon do more flowers - and beans. In gardens, time cures nearly everything.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

Thanks Alice for the quick response, I thought I'd be the only person up at this time of night! I have been watering them copiously and feeding them, so hopefully they will be okay!

Comment

Sorry Cathy, but I don't think your bean flowers are 'falling off' - I think they are being 'pecked off' by sparrows. I don't know what it is about runner bean flowers (particularly the red flowered varieties), but they seem to attract sparrows. I have watched them perching on the plants, pecking off the flowers.

Apart from netting, it is difficult to know what to do against this. Believe me hanging up unwanted CDs only provides perches for them to land on to pick off the flowers.

We are fortunate, insofar as we grow a lot of runner/climbing french beans, and the flower loss does not prevent us from getting a good crop.

I think this may be the cause of your flower loss.

valmarg

Comment

Do you have sparrows Cathie ? If so it may be as Valmarg says. We have a fabulous collection of birds, but no sparrows. We once had a passing party who stopped for a bath in the gutters but otherwise in 20 odd years we haven't seen them.

Comment