VegTrug Advice

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VegTrug Advice

Hi there & thanks in advance to those who read/reply.

I’m now in my 4th year of this growing your own so still very much a novice. I don’t have a huge garden or a greenhouse but the past 3yrs have grown in my 2 raised beds.

This year I treated myself to a medium trug to grow salad leaves, radish, turnip, beetroot & spring onion to save room in the beds for pots, kale, courgette, spinach & chard....all that I’ve grown before.

I split the trug into squares rather than drills, used a decent multipurpose compost, feed & added some vermiculite (although never used before). 5wks ago sowed 1/2 then a wk ago anoth 1/2 but this time used a layer of seed compost. Germination is really poor & ive had much better results in the garden before. Even my trusty valmaine has done nothing.

The trug has the cover on & im wondering if this the issue.....but that’s why I’ve popped on here to see if any of you experts could help???

Do you have a link to the trug in question or similar ? I'm struggling to visualise what you have ...

Comment

Originally posted by nickdub View Post
      Do you have a link to the trug in question or similar ? I'm struggling to visualise what you have ...
      Hi

The manufacturer are called VegTrug. Basically a raised wooden structure mines 1.8m long. I'll try & figure how to input a link

Comment

One of these?

https://www.vegtrug.com/range/vegtru...m-18m-vegtrug/

Comment

3years on mine is doing ok. When veggie s are finished I uproot the plants and excavate the area to at least 6 inches, deeper if I can then put in new compost. You don't have to wait for all veg to finish, just the bit where they were. Strawberries have been left but will probably replant next year and renew compost.

Comment

A couple of questions come to mind :-

1) what sort of compost are you using ?
            and
            2) Is the trug in a place where it might dry out quickly ?