Who's ever grown GIANT pumpkins?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who's ever grown GIANT pumpkins?

I know it's too early yet but was thinking of getting the ground partially prepared now with some rotted manure but unsure if I can grow a huge one outside with/without a pollytunnel frame or wether it needs to be in a greenhouse.
    My plan is to grow some outside anyway for the kids as last years were a success as far as growing big pumpkins go for the kids, but this next year I would love to grow a huge one with view to carving it and putting it on display to raise money for the RNLI. Apart from getting some shop bought seeds and growing some outside last year I have no other experience of growing them, never mind a huge one.

Is there anyone on here that could give me any advise, tips or even recommend where to get some good seeds, preferably from a successful huge pumpkin from last year.

Any help advise would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

I tried and failed this year !
    Love the idea of raising money for the RNLI.
    Where is your location ? That makes ( as I discovered) a big difference to growing giants.
    Have a look at this
    http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...kin_92713.html

Comment

My largest one this year was about 22kg grown outside in an 8x4 bed with a pile of manure, 2 plants to the bed and one pumpkin per plant. The other one was about 18-20kg so 40kg of food from those 2 pumpkins.

Once the fruit had set I removed all the other flowers as they appeared and pruned the side shoots down after a couple of leaves.

New all singing all dancing blog - Jasons Jungle

�I have not failed 1,000 times. I have successfully discovered 1,000 ways to NOT make a light bulb."
      ― Thomas A. Edison

�Negative results are just what I want. They�re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don�t.�
      ― Thomas A. Edison