confused about courgettes

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• confused about courgettes

Hello...I just have a question really; I'm not a gardener but I'm trying to grow courgettes (those are the only things I'm growing), but the flowers keep falling off! My plant looks fine and seems to be healthy, and so far it has had 4 flowers bloom, but they have each only remained open for about 4 hours, then closed and started to wilt. I touched the first flower after it had closed up and it just fell off the stalk neatly. The others have just fallen on their own; it's a very neat break but I don't know if this is supposed to happen. I couldn't see anything about it in the zucchini article...could anyone help me out?

I'm no expert either but I think you get male flowers first,these are the ones on long stalks.The female flowers have a tiny,miniscule courgette behind them.
    I have often found that even these early female flowers don't really develop,but as the plant matures they seem to do fine.

Comment

Mine also did this but are now off and running....I'm the only one in our house who eats them and I'm getting at least one very large every other day!

Comment

Are your plants in pots, growbags, or open ground? This may affect their growth. You need male and female flowers open at the same time (not necessarily on the same plant - just nearby) in order to get the fruit to set.

Comment