Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

All things Brussels Sprouts - call for help and other sprout-lovers!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• All things Brussels Sprouts - call for help and other sprout-lovers!

Hi everyone,

This is a call for anyone interested in growing (and cooking/eating) brussels sprouts.

I am a journalism student and over the past few months have been running a series of websites for people who love brussels sprouts (as opposed to the traditional hating clichee) - it's all part of a project for my MA which I've called "Sprout it from the Rooftops".

Great over Christmas - loads of stories of cooking, burger king "sprout burgers", etc. - and now that the planting season is starting, I'm taking the plunge and growing my own.

Does anyone have any tips for me? Or any dos and don'ts or stories they could share about brussels sprout growing? So far I have a box out on the patio and my flatmate and I are keeping them nice and damp especially in the hot weather at the moment.

And take a look at the websites too!

Join the Brussels Sprout community at
    SPROUT IT ON THE ROOFTOPS
    Blog: Sprout lovers – you are not alone! | Sprout it from the Rooftops
    Facebook: Anmelden | Facebook
    Twitter: @loveasprout

I love sprouts but by eck, they are difficult to grow!

Gerry my lottie neighbour always offers us some, and I got a stick of them from work last year - so I put the space over to other veg [like Cabbages - much easier and you get more out of them]...

But one thing is to net against cabbage whites, and to make sure the soil is rock hard around the roots or the sprouts blow before you can use them.

Comment

Hello Ellie, I have moved your post to here and deleted the second (duplicated) one
      A garden is a lovesome thing, God wot! (Thomas Edward Brown)

Comment