Putting tomatoes and chillies out

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Putting tomatoes and chillies out

I am new to this gardening malarky, but I have bought myself a small plastic zip-up greenhouse thing and have some tomato, chilli and sweet pepper plants that have been growing happily on the windowsill for the last month or so. Just wondering when it would be ok to move them out into the greenhouse?
    Last edited by PMW; 19-04-2011, 06:04 PM.

I would say not just yet. The current warm weather is going to catch some of us out if a frost or two occurs over the next 3 or 4 weeks which it could well do. That said, i have just put some of mine in to the unheated greenhouse today. Maybe you could pot them on in to bigger pots planting them right down in to the compost?
    www.gyoblog.co.uk

Comment

Mine are doing well in an unheated gh, but it's a minimum of 10c
      All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

PMW - I've not got a whole lot in my blowaway greenhouse yet, the toms, chilis and so on are still indoors. Outdoors would be warm enough at the moment, but I'm the sort to not realise a cold night is on the way and lose the lot so I'm playing it safe.

One important tip though... they are known as "blowaway" greenhouses for a reason. Get some bricks on the bottom shelf to reduce the chances of disaster if the wind picks up.

Good luck!

Comment

I have had a few of my toms in an unheated lean-to greenhouse for about two weeks. I cover them with fleece at night. They are not as tall as those still in the windows, but are a darker green and look stronger. Those on the window sill are a bit spindly for my liking, so I'm puting the rest in the lean-to.
          If it looks like we are going to get a cold snap I may bring them back in.

For now the chillies are staying in door.
          Sometimes you just have to scratch that itch and get dirt under your finger nails.

Comment