When to plant potatoes

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to plant potatoes

I am a novice and completely confused about earlies second earlies etc.
    Basically my plot will be cleared ready for use by march. To have a supply of potatoes throughout the year when would I have to start planting. Would I plant all at the same time. And what are the types I should try to start with.
    Thanks to all

What part of the country are you in Simoncpg? I always aim to try to plant out my earlies and mains on Good Friday - a bit of old wives' lore which has worked for me in the past. However your location may be vastly different to mine - and who knows what the weather is going to be like! One of my lottie mates advised growing a succession of first earlies - quicker maturing, less likely to be wiped out by blight.
    Whooops - now what are the dogs getting up to?

Comment

Simon you already asked this Zazen answered and I put a link to the potato thread for you.
      http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...tml#post596985
      WPC F Hobbit, Shire police

Comment

I've just bought my seed tatties and will be planting some in bags in the greenhouse next weekend probably.
        If they show above ground quickly i'll just cover them. They can stay in the greenhouse until fear of frosts are over then I'll give tattiemans idea a whirl and 'pocket' plant them in clumps in the usual way in a shallow depression.
        After the tops have died off I can then bring them back into the greenhouse in there bags and just tip out a bag when I need some tatties......simples.......probably!
        My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
        to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

I've found tattiemans website invaluable for reading up on growing pots:

Scottish seed potatoes and organic growing potatoes - Buy seed potatoes from Jamieson Brothers Annan