Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Autumn Sown Carrots

Hi All

This is my first winter with an allotment so am reall keen to keep at least a small part going over the winter months.

I am looking for a bit of advice on carrots. What type should I be looking to plant in the next few months for over-wintering? Should I sow in with my garlic to prevent pests, or are they not a problem over winter?

Thanks in advance.
    Jay
    BW
    James

I like to try, might not get far, but I like to try.

Hi James!

I'm a comparative carrot newbie, and this is my first reasonably successful year of carrot-growing, but I'll offer the wisdom of my limited experience

Firstly, I don't think you'll have a problem with carrot fly over the winter - garlic probably won't help against slugs, though!

I've seen it suggested that you sow an early variety at this time of year, as they will put on some decent growth before winter - maincrop varieties really need to be sown in the spring. Early Nantes has done well for me, though in my case I sowed it in February for a late spring/early summer harvest. However even early carrots can be quite slow-growing when the weather is cool, so you want to get them in asap.

Hope this helps!

Comment

Good question James. My carrots were rubbish this year - the fly got them all. I said I was never going to grow them again - but now I'm wondrering if I could plant some now for overwintering. Will be interesting to hear what others say.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

i planted some 2 weeks ago, cos you can never have too many carrots oopssss sorry was autumn king
        Last edited by lynda66; 19-08-2008, 12:40 AM.

Comment

If you're really quick, you might get some Autumn King in - they're supposed to be hardy enough to stay in the ground all winter, and if you cover them with a cloche or some fleece they should keep growing for into autumn. They reckon to be ready in 70 days.