Courgettes and runner beans in containers

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Courgettes and runner beans in containers

I've planted a lot of veg out in containers already which are doing well but it is my first time for courgettes and runner beans.

I've grown both from seed, the courgettes in pots and the runners, (thanks lavenderblue!) in loo roll middles. The courgettes are still quite small but I've been putting them outside during the day for a couple of days. The runners are about two feet tall and I haven't taken them out yet as due to their size... I don't want to break them! I've left them on a windowsill and opened the window a bit. How else can I harden both the runners and courgettes off and when can I plant them? They will be planted in containers.

This begs the next question-I'm running out of containers-any ideas for the runners? I have twelve plants-would a normal window box style trough be too shallow? I suspect it will!

Also when do I fertilise them and with what?

Thank you!

welcome kittyk...check out this link for courgettes in containers - very useful....http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...ubs_17339.html

I feel that runners need to be in quite deep and fertile soil...so maybe really deep pots with manure etc would be good.

You might try to take the seedlings outdoors for the daytime (stake the runners) and then bring back to the windowsill for the evening...hope you get on okay - it's a bit stressful this veg growing eh?

Also...I've been using Growmore sprinkled over my veg...had some left from last year...so hopefully it'll help?!

Dee
    Last edited by deezyb; 22-05-2008, 03:55 PM.
    "A cat sees no good reason why it should obey another animal, even if it does stand on two legs."

Comment

Have grown beans in half barrels with a wig wam in the past but made sure I put lots of rotted compost in the tub and fed regularly.