Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leeks

Hi all!

This is only me second thread so please be gentle with me!

I'm a total novice at gardening.. I managed to get some peas and carrots this year to grow... and that was it!

My grandfather was my info source right up until he passed away last month so I am kinda stuck. I read GYO and decided to try coming on here for help, hints and tips!

now.. to my question....

I planted some leeks from seed back in april (ish) in little pots, they are tiny.. i never got round to moving them to bigger beds. But i have now. They have wonderful heathly looking roots and the leeks themsleves look great (apart form being tiny!).. so my question... are they likely to thrive now they are in bigger beds or have i just wasted my time, especially at this time of year?

TIA!
    Cyanara

I would just leave them be- if you put fleece over them then they may get rust.
    Enjoy up until Feb/March....
    "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment

They probably wont thrive untill late next spring. I have a crop of leeks that I only transplanted about a couple of months ago after planting them in July. Although it was really the wrong time for planting leeks I always get a crop of edible medium sized leeks. Doing it this way avoids the leek moth. Well thats what I always find anyway!!

Comment

well.. there's hope for them yet!!! Thanks!!

one question nicos... bear in mind i'm a bit concerete headed when it comes to all things green... what's rust?? and on leeks..? i know my car has some....
        Last edited by cyanara; 07-11-2007, 08:29 PM.
        Cyanara

Comment

Its a fungal disease that leeks get, it looks like small orange/ ginger spots on leaves. can affect plant vigour if its bad, but otherwise if its a small affliction it looks worse than it is.

Just an aside... are you organic..?
          Blogging at..... www.thecynicalgardener.wordpress.com

Comment