does my squash need a bigger pot?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• does my squash need a bigger pot?

i am very new to growing my own veg and i am confused what to do with this squash as it has raced ahead of the other ones and looks far to big for the pot??

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Dan
    Attached Files

Hi Dan, welcome to the Grapevine.

What size pot is your squash in at the moment. I sow mine 1 seed to a 3 and a half inch pot. You are very early to be sowing squash, as they can't go outside till after the last frost.

Comment

This is the problem with sowing early, squashes grow very quickly and are difficult to manage inside for a long period and you'll need to keep it inside until well into May, and the way its going this year, I'm not sure we'll ever get frost free! If the roots are showing out the bottom of the pot then it'll need potting on but otherwise just try and give it as much light as you can and hope. Also sow some more in about a months time and you may have better luck with them

Some of us live in the past, always talking about back then. Some of us live in the future, always planning what we are going to do. And, then there are those, who neither look behind or ahead, but just enjoy the moment of right now.

Which one are you and is it how you want to be?

Comment

I always grow mine too early! I just can't wait any longer, I am going to try growing one in a large pot this year as I've ended up with too many varieties of courgette and squash.

As Alison said they will be fine until the roots start showing and then pot them into something bigger.
        Last edited by sammy_roser; 21-03-2013, 12:45 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by sammy_roser View Post
          I always grow mine too early!
          and how do they get on?

I don't even look at the seed packets until mid-April
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment