Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on Apple Grafting.

Hello.
    I have a Red Delicious tree, which was sent to me instead of the Red Windsor I ordered. I have decided to graft some other varieties to it, instead of digging it up. This is my first attempt at grafting. I have a couple of questions I hope someone can answer.
    The first is about the Cambium Layer. I have uploaded a photo (not mine) which I have identified with arrows what I think is the cambium layer - the white area after the green, but before the central wood part (I am colour-blind) Is this correct?

My other question is to do with the actual graft. The scions I have are thinner than the branches they will be grafted onto (about 20% - 30% thinner). There are three branches, I have three diffrent varieties of scion wood, one for each branch. I will use the cleft graft but I don't have enough scion wood to use two pieces in each cleft. Should I just line the one scion up at one side of the branch and leave the other side of the cleft vacant. Or could I collect some pieces of scion from the tree (Red Delicious) and fill the vacant gap with that, cutting it off at a later date? (Knowing my luck the Red Delicious will take and my purchased scions not)
    Last edited by GF3; 02-02-2022, 03:22 PM.

The cambium is the green bit. I would put a 2nd scion of any variety in the other side and then prune off next year. Otherwise you'll have a gap that may take longer to heal and be a possible entry point for nasty stuff.

If the desired scion fails but the other takes you can graft onto it next year.
    Last edited by Dave8abond; 02-02-2022, 04:39 PM.

Comment

Thanks for your reply.
      So, if I understand correctly, the Cambium layer is the one in the photo that the yellow arrows are pointing to. Not the black arrows?

Comment

Yep. Make sure you wrap it well to prevent any water entering the graft.

Comment

Originally posted by Dave8abond View Post