Telling fig crops apart

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Telling fig crops apart

I'm fairly new to growing figs, but I am reasonably familiar with their fruiting habits and know that they produce two crops a year, a summer one and a winter one, but that the winter one will not ripen in this country and should be removed.
    My potted fig tree currently has a couple dozen small figs on it, varying from the size of a large pea to the size of a silverskin onion. These are all being produced on this year's growth, and I thought that the summer crop came on last year's growth, which would surely make these the winter crop? But they seem rather big this early in the summer to be the winter crop?

So can anyone with more experience with figs tell me whether they are actually the winter or summer crop?

Do you know what variety it is?

I’m not an expert in figs either, but I know some of them will produce two crops even in the UK. I have a young tree of the variety Negronne, and that behaves similarly to your tree, it fruits on the current seasons growth and the fruits ripen in the autumn.

Comment

It's Brown Turkey.

Comment

I had a brown turkey at the front of the house, south facing, and it fruited really well just once a year. It seemed to start developing the figs in the spring and they were ready for eating late August onwards, sometimes quite late on. Its roots escaped from the pot it was in and i was worried it could damage the foundations.
        I've a cutting off it now in a polytunnel. It had 5 developing from overwinter some fell off prematurely (heat? poor watering?) but 2 were OK and there are several more now growing that I'm hoping will ripen this autumn. So may be depends where you keep it what it will do.

Comment

Mark's experience matches mine in Spain. The figs develop late spring and are ready for picking here late August and through September.