Hi I’m just getting started

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi I’m just getting started

I’ve recently started with a third of an allotment plot previously vacated by someone everyone says was a good gardener. However I suspect his latter years were less successful as I’m finding lots of annual and perennial weeds as I dig. Having turned some areas over this dry weather is turning clods of earth into stone, which doesn’t bode well. Any suggestions? Water is a long way from my plot and a water catcher is only in the planning stage.

Just wanted to say welcome aboard and I'm sure someone with more experience than me will be along with their expert advice soon.
    Your soil sounds like my clay soil.
    Northern England.

Comment

Hi Bluemike, welcome to the Vine and congratulations on getting your allotment.
      As your plot is so far from the water supply you might just have to wait until it rains before the ground is soft enough to dig. Meanwhile you could pull out any annual weeds and chop the tops off the perennials.
      I've rough-cleared a few overgrown allotments in dry weather using a long handled azada (sometimes called a Chillington hoe). Using one puts less strain on the lower back than using a spade.
      Good luck with it and take before and after photos if you can.

Edit: Just an afterthought if your plot is suitable and if you're that way inclined, have you considered the (Charles Dowding) no-dig approach. Our plot's no dig, under mulch. In the beds not yet planted up (so not been watered this season), despite the recent lack of rain an inch below the surface is still moist. Might be useful with your water situation
      Last edited by Mr Bones; 27-04-2021, 06:24 AM. Reason: Afterthought..
      Location ... Nottingham

Comment