Frustrating Setting Problem

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustrating Setting Problem

Hi there - I'm a fairly experienced jam maker, and I use 'surplus' fruit and sell it on my upcycling craft stall... so I'm not a novice at this.
    Well... I follow the recipe... I use the thermometer and the wrinkle test... the jam wrinkles at around 105C as it should... my jars are beautifully sterilised and warm... and as I'm ladling it into the jars it's skinning over, and the residue in the pan is already setting.
    I come to label it and it's not set. If I have a bit left over in a plastic tub, that's set. The drops in the pan and the ladle are set. The spillage on the tray is set. The contents of the jar is runny. Not all the time, but often enough to make me wonder what I'm doing / not doing that isn't in the usual list of tips?
    Thanks people.

Hi jammy lamplady and welcome to the vine. What fruit are you using? Strawberries will always give a very light set unless lots of pectin is added. Very ripe or over-ripe fruit contains less pectin than fruit that is slightly under-ripe.

Is there enough pectin in the fruit? An easy way to test for pectin is to drop half a teaspoon of the fruit juice into two tablespoons of methylated spirits and shake gently. If there's plenty of pectin a jelly like blob will form.
    Location - Leicestershire - Chisit-land
    Endless wonder.

Comment

Originally posted by mothhawk View Post
      Hi jammy lamplady and welcome to the vine. What fruit are you using? Strawberries will always give a very light set unless lots of pectin is added. Very ripe or over-ripe fruit contains less pectin than fruit that is slightly under-ripe.

Is there enough pectin in the fruit? An easy way to test for pectin is to drop half a teaspoon of the fruit juice into two tablespoons of methylated spirits and shake gently. If there's plenty of pectin a jelly like blob will form.