Wine Making Ideas for Newbee

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wine Making Ideas for Newbee

I am completely new to wine making, but like the idea! I saw River Cottage on tv make elderberry wine - it looked so easy! Must try it next year ( too late this year).
    However, blackberrys & other fruits etc will be upon us soon.
    Has anyone got a simple, but easy, wine recipe that I could try please - with success guaranteed??
    Gill

If you want guaranteed drinkable wine in a short time, buy a kit from Wilkinsons. It is the best way to start as you get a 'feel' for the winemaking process.

By the way, the elderberries round here are still green - so not too late for elderberry wine.
    Happy Gardening,
    Shirley

Comment

Thanks Shiley - will try Wilkinsons. Any tips for the basic equipment that I may need?

Gill
      ps meant to say elderflower ( not elderberry).

Comment

Wilkinsons do a kit for 20 quid - contains just about everything you need to make your first 6 bottles of wine - ready to drink in a week. The only other thing you will need is sugar and empty bottles to put the finished product in.
        Happy Gardening,
        Shirley

Comment

Thanks Shirley - thats a great help
          regards
          Gill

Comment

Just looked on-line at Wilkinsons and need advise please......

Will the wine kit £6.99 - 6 bottles include jar/container to ferment the wine in? ie (you can tell thet I am a true beginner)! .. apart from bottles will the kit containe everything?? steraliser, corks etc etc.
            Also ,the 30 bottle kit £15.99 - do I need to buy the 5 gallon barrel with tap to 'store' the wine in??

ie........what other kit will Ineed please in order to complete the process??
            I am so keen to have a go.
            Thanks in advance
            Gill

Comment