Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apples, Plums and Pears

Hi everyone, I'm new here so please be nice

I have been playing around with some home brew efforts the past couple of years, and recently one of my friends was talking about getting some organic brewing on the go. Sounds fun so far.

At the same time, we have just moved house and found an apple tree, a pear tree, a plum tree and a rose hip bush (good for wine apparently) in the garden. I was a little weary at first as although all the trees are abundant with fruit there are a lot of damaged ones.

I'm pretty new to gardening so I don't really know what I'm looking at but I managed to pick about a dozen plums and a few apples before I got scared of the rotten/bug-eaten/funny-looking ones and left them. The apples are delicious but I have no idea what type they are though. The plums are really sweet too. The pears I wasn't too sure about picking though; there seems to be a lot of them with black splodges on which the internet says is a kind of disease. Again, I'm not too hot on stuff like this but just to be safe I'm not going to risk trying them.

I don't know when the right season is for picking but looking at the trees it looks like we might be at the end of it, however I would be really interested if anyone had any good advice for what to do over the winter to get a good batch of fruit next year (to try and make some wine where I started off!). I read that as there are so many fruits on each branch I should trim them back to encourage a smaller yield of better fruit next year?

Any help would be much appreciated, especially if anyone can tell me more about the pears and what would be best to do with them. I'd prefer not to use any chemicals if at all possible. Thanks again, and sorry for the really long post!

Alan