Too late to plant tomato seeds?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too late to plant tomato seeds?

Hello lovely people! I'm a complete newbie and have just moved home so finally I have a garden!! Sooooo excited!

So I was wondering - is it way too late for me to plant tomato seeds? Should I just get seedlings instead?

Probably just enough time if you are quick but we are in a warmer part of the country.

So depends where in the country you are as the issue will be ripening. If you let us know where you are then someone from that area can advise better than me.

Nothing wrong with starting with plants either you just get less choice of varieties in the local garden center or the diy chains but the tomatoes still taste better than any shop bought ones as they get to ripen on the plant.
    Last edited by Bluenowhere; 20-04-2018, 06:42 PM.

Comment

You could certainly start some now - in the meantime I'd have an ask around among friends, neighbors etc - anyone who sows their own seeds usually has about 150% more plants than they need at this time of year - I've got about 40 tomato plants with room for about 10 - and that's after giving some away and also selling a few.

Comment

Originally posted by Bluenowhere View Post
        Probably just enough time if you are quick but we are in a warmer part of the country.

So depends where in the country you are as the issue will be ripening. If you let us know where you are then someone from that area can advise better than me.
        Sorry I should have said - I'm in SW London.

Comment

Originally posted by nickdub View Post
          You could certainly start some now - in the meantime I'd have an ask around among friends, neighbors etc - anyone who sows their own seeds usually has about 150% more plants than they need at this time of year - I've got about 40 tomato plants with room for about 10 - and that's after giving some away and also selling a few.