Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! Is it worth persevering with sprouting broccoli?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! Is it worth persevering with sprouting broccoli?

We are complete noobs to veg growing and planted sprouting broccoli far too close together. We didn't know about netting them either Now the plants are enormous, many leaves at the bottom are yellow & rotting, plus cabbage whites have eaten a lot of the leaves (although I'm out twice a day squishing caterpillars and eggs) and I'm wondering if another 6 months of this is worth it - will we get any sort of crop at the end of it? Or shall we dig the whole lot up and try to do it properly next year? Any advice appreciated, thank you.

The pigeons stripped my sprouts broccoli and kale in spring.
    I netted them and the seemed to recover OK.
    Hope this helps.
    Jimmy
    Expect the worst in life and you will probably have under estimated!

Comment

Ours were eaten by pigeon over the winter last year and we still had a crop.... along with my netting not working for all of the white butterfly..... how close have you planted them to each other is the idea of taking every other one up to give more space an idea?

Comment

Ours had a tough start with slug damage. One sprinkling of slug pellets and they suddenly took off, and haven't looked back since.
        If you don't need the space for anything else, I would be tempted to leave at least some of them in the ground - there's nothing to lose, and caterpillars shouldn't be a problem over winter :-)

Comment

Just look at mine and after a good start, and planting in a suitable row they are now all of 6 inches high. Suppose that by summer next year they might make 10-12 inches. Minor problem is they will be on the compost heap well before that.