Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Comfrey (NOT Bocking 14) - how to ensure it does not self seed or spread when in use?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Comfrey (NOT Bocking 14) - how to ensure it does not self seed or spread when in use?

Hi all

It's my first year of proper gardening and I am dead keen to use comfrey in all of it's wonderful uses: liquid tea, mulch, dug in, leaf mould, compost activator...

Someone very very kindly provided me some crown and root offsets which I have now started to grow new plants from. This is the Bocking 14 variety, and so I shouldn't have a problem with it taking over the garden. The trouble is that it is not likely to provide much for use this year, and I want to use it... NOW!

So I put an advert yesterday for harvested leaves and plants and many kind folk have been in touch offering me some from their gardens. I don't think much of this is likely to be Bocking 14... So my question is:

Is it possible to use this in the garden (as liquid tea, mulch etc) and not have it spread or self seed? And if so, how can I go about that? If I use JUST leaves, will I be safe? Any other means to ensure I am safe from a comfrey invasion?!

Many thanks

Max

You'll be alright with leaves etc - just bung whatever you get into a bucket of water and drown it.
    Only a problem if you grow the plant and it proves to be non-Bocking 14 -
    I've not seen a non-Bocking on a couple of different plots in the last 10 years - but I guess there are some around.
    Anyhow - shouldn't be a problem for your use-case.

Pip pip,
    Balders
    sigpic
    1574 gin and tonics please Monica, large ones.

Comment

My advice is keep it in containers, the roots go down a long way and one bit broken off is a new plant! I have spent the last three years trying to get it under control. I have won many battles but the war continues
      Last edited by Greenleaves; 29-05-2017, 05:45 PM.

Comment