Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• favorite winter squash

Hi Grapes,

I would love to know what is/are your favorite winter squash(es). As I am new in growing W. squash, I would like to choose something with small nice tasty squash, compact/ bush habit and early for my next year plan.

Last year I grew Red Kuri, this year I grow several type of winter squashes, they are : red Kuri ( C. maxima, 90 days ), Yokohama ( C. moschata, 100 + days ) & pomme D'or ( C. pepo, 95 days ). from all tree, red kuri seems to be the earliest, they are about to be harvest and so far the taste is very nice, nutty, sweet, and dry.
    Pomme d'or are fruiting well, beautiful tiny squash which I haven't tried yet ( looking forward to it ).
    As for Yokohama, it is the longest growing type from all 3, I just seen it's female flower this morning, but with out male flower, and I have absolutely no idea about the taste.
    So for now, Red Kuri is my favorite.

Please share me some idea about your favorite winter squash and why you adore them.

Many thanks in advance,

Momol
    I grow, I pick, I eat ...

I like.....

Butternut Squash, as it is very versatile and the seed cavity is small, so you get more flesh to use for cooking. It is also a very 'well-behaved' vine, that can be trained up an obelisque/wigwam or trellis.

Sweet Dumpling, is a really cute 'single portion' squash, with very attractive green & cream stripes, so very decorative, and if you start it early enough from seed and get an ideal summer, it is SO attractive climbing up a simple archway with other climbing vegetables, and it does taste lovely (Mine are doing appallingly this year by the way...)