No announcement yet.

Is my sprouting broccoli beyond saving?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is my sprouting broccoli beyond saving?

Hi all

It's my first year of gardening after a long hiatus, and I'm learning a lot (loads of which is thanks to you guys).

One of the things I've learnt is that standard garden netting is not sufficient to keep butterflies away from brassicas! I now have some scaffold debris netting and will swap the existing stuff for this. What I wondered though is whether the sprouting broccoli in the photos is too badly damaged? Or can it be saved if I put the new netting on this weekend (and pick off any caterpillars that are on there now?)

As ever - huge thanks

Max

Attached Files
    Last edited by Russel Sprout; 20-08-2016, 12:05 PM.

yes i would give the another lease of life,but,you do need to be very thorough with the search for the little criters,they do start of very tiny and so can be missed,at first looking,maybe take off the lower damaged leaves,and cut of the badly eaten ones a couple inch away from the stem,as the sprouts will emerge from the leaf joints,you will need to be vigilant for a while,make sure you look on the underside of the leave especially,as thats where they lay the eggs,just hope am not telling a chicken how to suck eggs.
    Last edited by lottie dolly; 20-08-2016, 12:17 PM.
    sigpicAnother nutter ,wife,mother, nan and nanan,love my growing places,seed collection and sharing,also one of these

Comment

They will definitely bounce back.
      He-Pep!

Comment

OK, I'll give it my best shot. I'll get the caterpillars off and put the new netting on today. Not teaching me to suck eggs at all - in fact, all advice is warmly welcomed

Thanks for the replies.

(PS - I might be back later with some more general sprouting broccoli questions).
        Last edited by Russel Sprout; 22-08-2016, 01:45 PM.

Comment

Hi