Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kale ravaged by tiny caterpillars - advice please!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kale ravaged by tiny caterpillars - advice please!

My kale is full of tiny holes made by very small green caterpillars (6-7mm long, 1mm wide). I've noticed small grey/white moths flitting about this year, so maybe they're the caterpillars of those moths. Had no problems last year with caterpillars and saw no moths either. Should I get rid of them with an insecticide? What if I just leave them? I'm quite new to veggie growing and didn't experience any problems last year apart from flea beetle on my overgrown rocket.

Could it be the Diamondback moth infestation we've been warned about?
    He-Pep!

Comment

Originally posted by bario1 View Post
      Diamondback Moth - Pest Identification for Vegetable Gardens

Comment

Originally posted by bario1 View Post
        Well, I've certainly noticed a lot of moths. Thanks, bario1.

A quick Google (although I'd rather ask on this forum for more reliability) suggests a pesticide containing a bacteria called Bacillus Thuringiensis (or BT) to take care of the caterpillars. Any thoughts on this, anyone?
        Last edited by TeaMonsta; 15-07-2016, 04:00 PM.

Comment

Thanks, VG! Reckon that's the blighters!

Comment

Is there too many to pick off by hand?

Comment

Originally posted by Scarlet View Post
              Is there too many to pick off by hand?
              To be honest, I hadn't considered that and haven't really noted the numbers; just that they are there. I'll pop out now and have a look......

Comment

.....Only found a few. But there are ALOT of leaves to check - I'd be there all day. I'm wondering whether just to sacrifice the leaves that come while the moths and caterpillars are about and wait for the colder months when they've gone to start harvesting. Providing the plants survive, of course.

Comment