Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Identify these beans, fruit canes and grapes?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Identify these beans, fruit canes and grapes?

Apologies if this is in the wrong place.

I've just taken on my first allotment plot, and there are there a few plants already there that I'd like to identify, so I care for them correctly.

Firstly, I've got a fruit cane, which is in an area that used to be a compost heap that someone apparently planted blackberries in, but I'm not so sure it looks like a blackberry cane. It's very upright. I would have said raspberry possibly. There is a raspberry patch on the site, and I suppose it could have grown from a composted cane/fruit.

Secondly, I have a huge grapevine. I've no experience with grapes at all, so I don't know if posting pics here will be enough, or if I'll need to take them to a professional for identification.

Finally, some beans which have died back, but there are a few pods. I think they're very cool looking, and nothing I've grown before, so it would be nice if I could save them and grow them next year. They may well be a hybrid, so possibly I'll not get the same again, but I've plenty of space to try things out. I've looked in a book, and on google, and I think they look like some sort of borlotti bean. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by dilettante; 18-10-2015, 10:55 PM.

Those beans look distinctly like borlotti beans. Ours are climbers but I think you can get bush ones.

Can't help with anything else, fruit's not my game.

Comment

No idea about the grapevine- but have you asked your lottie neighbours?
      With all those bunches some of them will surely have been shared with your neighbours???
      Someone would surely have asked- just out of interest- what variety it is????
      "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment