Mahoosive purple sprouting broccoli plant

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mahoosive purple sprouting broccoli plant

Despite trials and tribulations with cabbage whites this year, one of my psb plants has grown to 5' tall and is sprouting already.

Is it okay to pick from it this early or would you leave it for a bit longer? It has a big central head, a bit like calabrese. I'm assuming this should come off first?

It is my first time growing psb.
    My Autumn 2016 blog entry, all about Plum Glut Guilt:

http://www.mandysutter.com/plum-crazy/

I was picking it this time last year. Wish I was this year but mine are a bit behind. Yes to taking off the central bit. Sideshoots then start appearing and just keep coming. Congrats!
    http://mudandgluts.com - growing fruit and veg in suburbia

Comment

Originally posted by sparrow100 View Post
      I was picking it this time last year. Wish I was this year but mine are a bit behind. Yes to taking off the central bit. Sideshoots then start appearing and just keep coming. Congrats!
      Oh, wow, thanks Sparrow100. That's really good news.

Comment

I think it should even be you should, even must pick it, otherwise it'll flower and then go to seed and generally be wasted. Pick it, cook it, eat it, feel smug, sit back and wait for the side shoots

Comment

Wow - well done thats nearly as tall as I am
          I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. Thomas A. Edison

Outreach co-ordinator for the Gnome, Pixie and Fairy groups within the Nutters Club.

Comment

Pick it!! If it has got to that height I would stake it as high winds will knock it over.

Green with envy, love PSB
            Gardening requires a lot of water - most of it in the form of perspiration. Lou Erickson, critic and poet

Comment

Originally posted by Lumpy View Post
              Wow - well done thats nearly as tall as I am
              And a foot taller than VC

Comment