Should my tomatoes be flowering yet?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should my tomatoes be flowering yet?

Hi guys so this is my first time trying to grow tomatos and only my second attempted at growing my own at all.

Now I presumed I wouldn't of got flowers until the tomatos were a lot further along.

This could totally just be my newbie knowledge but thought I would check but you can just see due to the poor photo one starting to come on the first plant on the right.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Chesh; 05-06-2014, 04:33 PM.

The flowers will not start producing until the tomato plant is bigger. Mine have only just started to flower.
    Carrie

Comment

Sometimes they flower when the plant is small due to stress. I notice that all your leaves are wet, when watering tomatoes try to keep the water off the leaves. If their final destination is large pots, try to water from the bottom.
      Good luck!

Comment

Thank you, I had just watered them. I'll remember that thou. They will be going into a larger trough eventually.

Comment

When did you sow the seed?
          Gardening requires a lot of water - most of it in the form of perspiration. Lou Erickson, critic and poet

Comment

Mine tend to start flowering when they reach 2ft tall for most cordon varieties. I'm growing Shirley, sungold and gardeners delight and it's this variety which was first to flower. Coincidentally it's also the one nearest the door and also the light.
            Was the same this year and got flowers mid may from a greenhouse plant which gets 5 hours direct light/day and I think this is also a factor. I have my greenhouse temperature generally around 20degrees heated until end of April then take out the heater at the start of May weather permitting. This year I switched it off over Easter when the temps went up.
            P

Sent from my iPad using Grow Your Own Forum

Comment

They were sown late Aprilish after Easter that's a definate.