Roadside Apples

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roadside Apples

really started getting an interest in apples this year, often noticing apple trees growing roadside, I have been intrigued if any would be worthwhile tasting wise, I have for the last few week been planning a expedition to some trees I had seen growing roadside, but every week something has popped up to stop me, I had noticed a tree growing out of a hedgerow close to where I work so on the way back today I stopped popped out and grabbed a few an was pleasantly surprised to see they were russet like, im not sure if its a actual known variety or a wildling or threwn apple cure seedling ,

im not a apple expert but would the say the tree was upright growing? (no drooping branches, )

the apples themselves are very russeted , some have patches of normal skin, never more in percentage than the russeted area

the apple when cut browns in less than a minute,

flavour of flesh is mildly sweet, but bland (poor pear like flavour)

flesh seemed a bit wooly? dry almost poor pear type flesh,

russets are my favourite apples so was great that my first finding should be a russet type, encouraged to go out looking and photographing more I know of some more apple trees parts of old orchards, hedgerow grown, or roadside grown maybe come across something really interesting in the next few weeks,

best wishes stew
    Attached Files

Looks an awful lot like an Egremont Russet.

I bought some today (as a taster for my own mini orchard) and the one I cut tonight started going brown in a similar amount of time.

The colouring and shape are the same, the stalk in similar in that it is short and sunken so it doesn't show much above the apple.

Mine are rather nice tasting. Crunchy, sweet and a little bit nutty, not very acid, I'd say not a strong flavour (like my usual Granny Smith).

My book also says that Egremont Russet is an upright tree.