Carrots, Parsnips

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carrots, Parsnips

Need some help please - this is my first time here.

This is the first year Ive ever grown vegetables. I built some high vegetable beds - about 3.5' high. I filled this with top soil, and used chicken manure to fertilise the soil a bit. I planted some potatoes, brussels, beetroot, carrots and parsnips. Everything has grown really well, apart from the carrots and parsnips.

I grew Early Nantes carrots and another variety who's name escapes me. And a very good parsnip variety.

The carrots have come out looking terrible. They have either been extremely stunted or have come out twisted and knarled looking. The Parsnips have been really fat and broad at the top, but only been around 4cm in length (and around 6cm wide!). They had a flat bottom and lots of little roots growing from the bottom of it.

I have no idea what I have done wrong, or how I can change this to have better results next year. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas for me, please?

Thanks very much
    Dave

Hi Dave, welcome to the Vine.

I think the problem with your carrots and parsnips would be the addition of chicken manure. Root crops really don't like rich soil.

Comment

Hi Dave and welcome from me too. Although you say your raised beds are 3.5' high, is that one of those planters on legs? What is the actual depth of soil in the bed. Carrots and parsnips need a lot of root room. Once they hit the bottom or side they start to misbehave. Here are some of mine that I grew in a plastic flower bucket this year - bit of a disaster really
      Attached Files

Comment

Here's some of mine grown in a plastic flower bucket.

I grow 15-20 buckets of them a year which gives us all we need. I use a finely sieved potting mix with the addition of just a little BFB.
        Attached Files

Comment

You can go off some people you know ^^^^

Comment