Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Calabrese flowering - can I still eat the sprouts that haven't flowered?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calabrese flowering - can I still eat the sprouts that haven't flowered?

Hello, first proper post

I probably need correcting first. That which is called Brocolli in the supermarket is really called Calabrese by gardeners? Right?

Anyway, Calabrese is what I planted in April. I have some lovely vigorous plants which have been giving me small shoots of calabrese since July, but nothing like the big thick stemmed "brocolli" you get at the supermarket.

So I decided to wait to see if they would get bigger, but all I am eventually getting is flowers.

I am guessing they have bolted - bear in mind I am a newbie so might not be up with the terminology.

I am I still OK to eat the little shoots that come through before they get a chance to flower, or has the plant basically had its day as food as soon as it starts any flowering?

Any knowledge you can pass on would be lovely.

Your question was addressed in the last episode of Beechgrove Garden.

BBC iPlayer - Beechgrove Garden: 2013: Episode 14

It starts at 16.10
    Mark

Vegetable Kingdom blog

Comment

I MUCH prefer the SHOOTS - like Asparagus. I do not like the FURRY bits!

I like the old type plants - similar to Tenderstem - which are all shoots. More like sprouting broccoli.

Comment

Originally posted by joe the gardner View Post
        Hello, first proper post

I probably need correcting first. That which is called Brocolli in the supermarket is really called Calabrese by gardeners? Right?

Anyway, Calabrese is what I planted in April. I have some lovely vigorous plants which have been giving me small shoots of calabrese since July, but nothing like the big thick stemmed "brocolli" you get at the supermarket.

So I decided to wait to see if they would get bigger, but all I am eventually getting is flowers.