Redcurrants - Advice Needed, please

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Redcurrants - Advice Needed, please

The single redcurrant bush that we inherited when we took over our allotment appears to have set a nice amount of fruit. We haven't done anything with the bush since taking over the plot at the end of April, except weed around it.

The smallest berries at the very ends of the trusses are starting to turn red but they are shrivelling up and none of the other berries further along the trusses are showing any signs of turning. I have no experience of growing fruit so I am wondering if this is normal.

In recent weeks the amount of rain here in Cambs has been quite low (low compared to last year, but normal compared to our usual drought summers).
    Currants, raspberries, strawberries and other "soft fruits" are very heavy water users.
    In this area, I've noticed a lot of plants are beginning to show water stress symptoms - even my pears on "full size" seedling roots are wilting, while some of my M25 apples are also looking floppy in the afternoons in this warm dry spell. The MM111 apples are not yet showing signs of water stress.

Comment

Originally posted by Indigo23 View Post
      The smallest berries at the very ends of the trusses are starting to turn red but they are shrivelling up and none of the other berries further along the trusses are showing any signs of turning.
      I wouldn't worry. Wait a couple more weeks. The berries along a truss don't ripen simultaneously. Quite often only half the berries on a truss actually develop into fully ripe fruit. Some just shrivel and some remain so tiny that they aren't worth picking. The most important thing to do in my opinion, in the expectation of redness, is to cover the bush with netting. Otherwise the Blackbirds will have the lot!

Comment

Thanks for the advice, Grapes.