Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• raspberries which variety

Hi
    i am new to allotments and am wanting to have raspberries on my allotment but am unsure wether to go for summer fruiting or autumn fruiting as i live near stirling was wondering if autumn fruiting would not have a long enough season

Hi Stuart, welcome to the Vine.

Lots of raspberries were bred in Scotland so the weather up there suits them down to the ground. Autumn fruiting is a bit of a misnomer really - they start fruiting around August.

If I were you I would go for a mix of Summer and Autumn fruiting. Then you should have a long period of picking yummy fresh raspberries.

Comment

Hello Stuarts and welcome!
      As Rusty Lady says, you should be fine whichever you choose - have some of each and extend your raspberry season. You can never have too many raspberries!
      Could you add your location to your profile please - it stops us asking you every time where you live

Comment

thanks for the replies that now makes sense i will mix and have both just which varities i was thinking of Tulleen and Joan J or Autumn bliss

Comment

Hi Stuarts,

I'm not too far from you and my Autumn Bliss and Golden Bliss do really well.

Comment

My favourite Autumn variety is Himbotop: large berries, good taste, superb productivity. If you ask me to choose between Autumn Bliss and Joan J, I would pick Autumn Bliss (better taste).

Comment

And plant them in different areas and label so that you dont get them muddled up as the pruning is different. Autumn rasps fruit on canes that were produced the same year and are all cut down to ground, I do mine in Feb. Summer rasps fruit on year old canes, these can be cut down after fruiting and the new canes tied in ready for next year.
              I've got tullameen and a glen "something" ( can't remember!!) and autumn bliss. Personally I prefer the autumn bliss for taste and also the size of the fruit. Though I wish I'd also got a yellow one....