Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone had any luck with Lemon and Lime Trees?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone had any luck with Lemon and Lime Trees?

Just a quick question to you guys out there.
    My other half really wants to get a Lemon and a Lime tree (as we use so many in our cooking).
    Can anyone tell me the do's and don'ts of growing and caring for them as I have no clue (or indeed post a link to where I can find out more about them).
    http://theallotmentplot.weebly.com/index.html

A weed is a plant that has mastered every survival skill except for learning how to grow in rows.

I have 4 lemon trees, but i am not an expert I only got them last year.

All I can say winter lemon trees need rest period like other trees, and have to be kept in the cool area NO heating ( or they drop leaves and will not fruit.) lemons can withstand few degrees of frost when large enough. On the label it says -3 tolerant.
    Limes like more warmth.

Check out these links:
    Global Orange Groves UK - The Choice For A Citrus Tree In The UK
    Home Citrus Growers
    Growing citrus trees | Farm In My Pocket | Farm In My Pocket

Comment

I left mine out over winter (just patio ones in pots) and they very ill for it. Fleeced them but think it was wet rather Han cold that got them. Got them in dry non-heated light area now and so hoping will recover!
      Last edited by Caldan; 30-03-2013, 09:15 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by StaryD View Post
        Just a quick question to you guys out there.
        My other half really wants to get a Lemon and a Lime tree (as we use so many in our cooking).
        If you want the plants for the fruit - forget it. If you want it because its smells nice and you have the occasional fruit buy them.
        I had a lemon "tree" for several years - it had one lemon the first year and that was it. Plenty of flowers though

Comment