Leeks from seed

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leeks from seed

As this is my first year at growing almost everything I followed timings from a book bought for me by my MIL!

That said the leeks were sown on new years day in an unheated pot no cover nothing! To my suprise I think every seed must have germinated so what do I do now?

Do I leave them or seperate them and pot on in indivdual pots? how big and when can I plant out?

I love leeks........ But may have over sown
    In the following link you can follow my recent progress on the plot

https://www.youtube.com/user/darcyvuqua?feature=watch

They can go out when about pencil thickness, when you plant them out just push a bar 6" into the soil, drop the leek in & just water them in. Don't fill the hole with compost as you would other plants.
    sigpic“Gorillas are very intelligent, but they don't have to be as delicate as chimps -- they can just smash open the termite nest,”
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Official Member Of The Nutters Club - Rwanda Branch.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Sent from my ZX Spectrum with no predictive text..........
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    KOYS - King Of Yellow Stickers..............

Comment

mine came up on the sparebed window cill heating turned off in that room i moved them to my home greenhouse (unheated) 4 days ago just checked earlier and they seem ok reason i moved was for more light . i used empty grape containers to germinate in as there quite deep and seem to get good root growth i will leave them now till i plant down the lottie probably late march early april i dont pot them on and they grow fine, or they did last year

Comment

If there is room for them in the pot, just let them grow on for now. If however there are clearly too many plants for the size of the plot, prick some out into pots or cell trays.

Comment