beetroot

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• beetroot

This is my first year of growing beetroot. I have pronto and bulls blood. NO comparrison, bulls blood wins for coulor but has anyone tried these for taste? there are so many diferent varieties but what I really want to know is which taste good?

I grew cheap and cheerful B&Q boltardy last year for the first time. I hated beetroot until I tasted those! fantastic! would never eat jars of the pickled stuff ever again!
    Bernie aka Dexterdog
    Bernie aka DDL

Appreciate the little things in life because one day you will realise they are the big things

Comment

I have had fresh beetroot from the farmers market which was very tasty grated into a mixed salad. first year growing myself so wondered which variety were v tasty and if bulls blood were tasty AND beautifull

Comment

Am I right in thinking that you can eat the leaves as well?
        Bernie aka DDL

Appreciate the little things in life because one day you will realise they are the big things

Comment

yes you can and bulls blood add a lovely colour to any mixed salad but at the end of the day I have loads of salad leaves of various colours which are far more tasty than beetroot. What I want from this plant is to be a great addition to the pottager and be tasty as a root . If there is another variety of beet that is better to eat then I will grow this separately in pots

Comment

Sorry Serenity, I'm not an expert on the relative merits of different varieties of beetroot. (We might all get there though !) Maybe we could compare notes later.
            I just wanted to say - apparently beetroot likes a little salt sprinkled on the ground around it. I'm trying it anyway.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment