Growing Carrots

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Growing Carrots

Hi, i am a beginner at growing Vegetables. Tomato’s and lettuce are about my barrow! Lol. My 10 year son wants to grow some carrots as they are his favourite vegetable, and since he is not keen on any other vegetable I thought this would be a great way of him trying other vegetable if he as grown them himself! So if we can grow a successful carrot you never know where it will lead! So this is where I need all your help. Not having a veggie patch only a patio we have gone for the black plastic bin with holes at the bottom, please can you advise me which variety to get and any do`s and don’t regarding growing in a bin.

All your help is gratefully received

I've had my Parmex carrits in a big pot on the staging in the g/h sown on 17/2. They've had no special treatment apart from the odd soaking and a bit of thinning and they're just romping away.

Trouble is, I'm trying to clear the g/h for the toms. Do I still need to protect them from the evil fly ? I suppose the staging will be coming out too so i could just sit them on there to keep them high up, just a matter of finding a spot in the already over crowded garden !

Sown some rainbow carrits (in a black bucket) on 10/4, same greenhouse, same staging, bit of glass on the top of the bucket till germination, and they popped through about a week ago. Again, nothing fancy, just some sieved compost, bit of love and the occasional pose for the camera.

Must sow some more in the bath as well. I'm really trying to do this "little and often" successional thing properly this year !

good luck with yours.

Catch up with my daily doings at http://kaypeesplot.blogspot.com/ and http://kaypeeslottie.blogspot.com/ but wait a while cos these are well out of date ! Don't want to ditch them entirely cos I'll never remember the urls !

Comment