Garlic doesn't seem split

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garlic doesn't seem split

This is my first year growing garlic and I'd appreciate some advice. I planted it in late October - can't remember the type. It seems to be growing fine, stems are leek sized mostly and just a little brown now at tops. Yesterday I eased one up just to have a look - nice size, about the same as the ones I buy, maybe a little bigger, but I can't see the shape of cloves, it looks like one big bulb. Will these become clear as it dries? if it is one big clove can I still store and use it?
    We certainly had plenty of snow and frost, which I thought it needed to split.

They split at the last minute, and you wait till the foliage starts to die back, so now is probably too early this year.

Comment

Yes and yes.

It is said that to form individual cloves the garlic head needs a good frost.
      However, the cloves on your garlic(s) may still be forming and still a little undersized. You can still use a head of garlic that is only one clove, - avoids all that fiddly peeling.

Of course you know that 'elephant garlic' is not a garlic, but a modified leek.

Cheers, Tony.
      Last edited by Kleftiwallah; 07-06-2012, 04:37 PM. Reason: to shift the (s).
      Semper in Excrementem Altitvdo Solvs Varivs.

Comment

All good then - yippee! Many thanks.

Comment

Well, I ate my first garlic (of the year) last night ~ I didn't think it had separated but it had. Apart from having a leathery rather than papery skin, it was perfect (grown from a supermarket bulb)
          Attached Files
          Last edited by Two_Sheds; 08-06-2012, 08:51 AM.
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Picture perfect! Wish mine looked like that.

Comment