Bolting calabrese

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bolting calabrese

Hi - I'm growing calabrese in the tunnel but didn't realise it would bolt in high temperatures. It is sending up spears but the little heads are far apart if you know what I mean. I have them in large pots. So was wondering if there is anything I can do to save them? I guess putting them outside would help but can it reverse the bolting? Can I still harvest the spears? Or is it doomed? The spears havn't flowered yet.
    Thanks a lot

My calabrese bolted when they were still tiny seedlings in modules in the greenhouse............

(sorry, I realise this doesn't help you Redser)

Comment

Hi Redser. I'm new to all this as well, but personally I'd put your pots outside (probably harden them off a bit first?), and cut off whatever florets you have... at least you'd get a taste that way! Plus I believe calabrese will throw up new shoots if you chop its head off, so you may even get a few more coming through later. I'm guessing though . I'm sure someone with lots of experience will be along shortly to put you straight .
      sigpicGardening in France rocks!

Comment

Once they've started bolring I don't think you can stop em!

You can certainly eat the 'spears' (prior to flowering) so just keep cutting them to prolong whatever harvest you get.
        My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
        to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

Are we talking about calabrese (single big head) or sprouting broccoli (many sprouting heads/florets)
          ?

Bolting means going to flower & seed: you can't stop it once it's started
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Thanks for the replies, I'll chop the main one off and put it outside and see what happens.