My kingdom for some apples.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My kingdom for some apples.

Hi I'm new to gardening and to the site.
    I live in Leicester.
    Im on the search for local wild apple trees for making wine and cider. If you know the location of any trees please let me know. If you have too many apples in your garden and don't want them to go to waste I will take them off your hands and make some wine and cider which I will share with you. I'm also new to making wine and cider so I will try not to make a hash of it Any info will be much appreciated.

Are you wanting to use a specific type of apple for cider, ie not dessert apples? Or will you make cider from any old apple you can get?

And, have you tried your local Freegle?
    Last edited by Two_Sheds; 14-09-2011, 07:32 AM.
    All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Hi thanks for the reply.
      I will make cider from any old apples added to my own crab apples.
      I spotted many wild apple trees east of Peterborough on my way to Hunstanton last week, but most of them were on dual carriage ways so I couldn't stop the car. Nothing spotted in Leicester as yet.
      Never heard of freegle. I will have a look.
      Thanks.

Comment

They are everywhere at the moment; I must have seen a good hundred driving back from Oxford yesterday.

The best thing to do is to just drive round some A roads - I saw about 5 on the A50 between Burton and Swadlincote the other day just waiting to be picked.

Comment

Thanks. I'm planning to reconnoitre north leicester this Sunday.

Comment

Originally posted by zazen999 View Post
            The best thing to do is to just drive round some A roads - I saw about 5 on the A50 between Burton and Swadlincote the other day just waiting to be picked.
            Will tell my brother, that's just near him