Cape Gooseberries

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cape Gooseberries

Anyone growing these this year? Mine are flowering and I can see the little cases starting to form! YAY

How long does it take from this stage until they are ready to eat? Will it be obvious when to pick them? do they look the same as in the shops?

Sorry V Excited
    Attached Files
    http://meandtwoveg.blogspot.com

Hi first time growing for this year too, so can't give you too much information I'm afraid.

However I have read that at the green stage they're poisonous, and you need to wait till they go brown and dry. I think its fairly normal to wait for them to drop off the plant.
    The more help a man has in his garden, the less it belongs to him.
    William M. Davies

Comment

Had seedlings, then cat trampled them and now bought one single plant. I find the fruit unusual and you either love it or hate it. I love it sugar or some other fruit. This is my first year but i would say just a bit longer than a tomato
      Dont judge a plant by it's pot.

Comment

Don't grow cape gooseberries but they look at a similar developement to my tomatillos. I don't end to harvest them until late summer / autumn when the paper bits have gone dry and the fruits are nicely swollen but cape gooseberries may be different. Don't know anything about the poisonous thing as with tomatillos you can pick them whenever but I prefer them to be juicier.

Some of us live in the past, always talking about back then. Some of us live in the future, always planning what we are going to do. And, then there are those, who neither look behind or ahead, but just enjoy the moment of right now.

Which one are you and is it how you want to be?

Comment

Long time yet. Its fairly obvious when they are ripening. The skins go papery and brown (hence the other name - chinese lanterns). Almost see thru sometimes webby. Should see the orange fruits inside.

Comment