Asparagus query!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asparagus query!

This is my first year with Asparagus an i purchased some crowns that had been marked down at the end of the season (about June) from tes*os. Some were only fit for the compost heap but i have managed to recover many of the crowns and they have been throwing up new shoots throughout the summer quite nicely. I have left these shoots untouched ( cept a bit of earthing up ) and will do for another year and the green spears have developed nicely into willowy fern fronds. I have just been round to take a peek at them and much to my surprise they are still very green and ferny and growing great guns. I had expected them to turn brown and die down in all the harsh frosts and 14 inches of snow that we have seen recently . So what is going on?
    I expected them to be like woodland ferns and die back in the cold dark winter and then to the resurrect themselves again when the warmer spring weather comes .
    Why are they still green and lush? Is this normal Asparagus behaviour?

Wren
    Last edited by Wren; 11-12-2010, 09:44 PM.

It is my first year of growing them from seed, so mine were very small. However they did die away for a very short period and then seem to spring back to life very quicky. I am going to leave them to do their own thing and see what happens? Have no idea if this is right or not
    Updated my blog on 13 January

http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra.../blogs/stella/

Comment

I think they will be fine - just cut back the died off foliage when you can and mulch well in spring.
      Whooops - now what are the dogs getting up to?

Comment

and dont harvest til the third year
        http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...gs/jardiniere/

Comment

Thanks everyone ,