Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potatoes - Need Help Please

Can anyone give me advise.

I have just started growing potato's they were doing well and are due to be harvested at Christmas.

This week the leaves seem to have withered and I have black marks on the leaves.

Thanks

Where abouts are you in the country, first?
    Second, where abouts are you growing your potatoes - outside or in a greenhouse?
    Whooops - now what are the dogs getting up to?

Comment

Hi

Thank you for the response.

I live in the North West of UK. The potatoes are being grown in large containers outside.

I am new to this and its the first time i've starting growing my own produce.

Thanks

Comment

The potato leaves go black for two reasons that I know about, if they are being grown outside. The first is frost. The second is blight.
        If there are only a few black marks, cut the leaves off and hope the potato plants recover. They will need fleece over them if they are outside.

Comment

Originally posted by Stuart1967 View Post
          I have just started growing potato's they were doing well and are due to be harvested at Christmas.
          They need to be under cover at this time of year. Spuds are a tender crop (from S.America)
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

The problem is also that they have wilted over the past week is this to do with the blight

Comment

Have a look at this thread - there are a few more if you go to the search button at the top and put in 'potato blight'

Comment

I had a guy tell me the same thing on Saturday. His got struck by blight. He had them planted for 10 weeks and he has got a wonderful crop of new sized potatoes.
                Potato videos here.

Comment