Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buds on newly planted raspberries

Hi all
    I planted some bareroot raspberries of 3 different varities a few weeks ago, all seem to be showing some signs of life
    I was not totally surprised to see some buds on the autumn fruiting canes but am not sure if I should let them fruit this year or become more established first?
    But I am really confused that there also seem to be buds forming on the old brown cane of some of the summer fruiting ones (Glen Ample) - I thought they only fruited on new growth? Again am not sure whether to wait and see whethe I get any fruit, or to remove them and let the plant concentrate on making new canes?
    Any advice gratefully received - I am a complete newbie to raspberry growing!
    Many thanks
    Ruth

Mine did similar - the buds were shoots - and these in turn are now supporting berries.. a few new shoots (suckers?) came from the roots too, but the most from the old wood.

Comment

My understanding is that summer fruiting raspberries fruit on last years wood. Your bare rooted stock is last years cane so will fruit this year.

Comment

Originally posted by Suky View Post
        Your bare rooted stock is last years cane so will fruit this year.
        But do you nip them off to promote stronger growth or can you leave them to fruit?

Comment

Sounds like it's already been pruned down to around a foot anyway?

Comment

Originally posted by chrismarks View Post
            Sounds like it's already been pruned down to around a foot anyway?
            The flower buds I want to know about keeping or removing are are growing from the top of the brown cane (along with lots of leaves), which was indeed cut to around a foot when I received them a few weeks ago.

A few other canes are starting to grow from the roots but these are still tiny at the moment.

Hope this clarifies

Thanks

Ruth

Comment