Globe Artichokes

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Globe Artichokes

I've done a quick search of the forum but can't find what I'm after.

I have some globe artichoke seeds and need some advice on a few points.

1. Will I get any artichokes in the first year?

2. How do I protect them in winter?

3. How many years do they produce for?

Thanks
    A good way to deter predators is to taste awful.

Hi LinnetLegs - I'm no expert but as far as I know
    1) Possibly not - I'm growing mine from a sideshoot which is 2ft tall already and I'm not expecting anything this year
    2) If they are growing well, they won't need protection - mine have come through the worst winter in years
    3) They keep going for ages but get absolutely huge so you may want to propagate from sideshoots and chuck the big one away.
    I hope this helps - and also an expert comes along to correct me!
    In the meantime here is a piccie of the flower head (sorry couldn't resist)
    Attached Files
    Whooops - now what are the dogs getting up to?

Comment

Thanks for that - I was just thinking our recent cold winters would kill them. Also, I am prepared to wait a year for them if need be

Comment

Originally posted by LinnetLegs View Post
        Thanks for that - I was just thinking our recent cold winters would kill them. Also, I am prepared to wait a year for them if need be
        Hi LL,
        According to Monty Don you are best removing any flower heads that form in the first year of cultivation as it lets the plant put it's energy into establishing a good root system.