Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manure and lime... hmmmmm

Hi all,

I'm in the midst of preparing the ground for this year's onslaught, and its time for the brassica patch to to get some treatment. Trouble is, I'd like to give it a good dose of lime and manure. I understand one is acid and one is alkaline, and that they shouldn't be mixed. I GYO this month it was mentioned that they can be applied to the same patch - but leave a month between applications.

However - which should go on first? The manure is lovely and well rotted... and I probably won't plant anything in this patch for a good 4 - 5 months.

What do you reckon?

Thanks

J

I'd go with the manure first if it was me as it's a soil conditioner as well as feed, but I'm far from an expert.

I'm just glad you're not talking about some foul sounding cocktail!
    A simple dude trying to grow veg. http://haywayne.blogspot.com/

BLOG UPDATED! http://haywayne.blogspot.com/2012/01...ar-demand.html 30/01/2012

Practise makes us a little better, it doesn't make us perfect.

What would Vedder do?

Comment

I originally got really confused about this!
      so - I tried to work it out.
      Yes it is certainly better to do one in the autumn and one in the spring to lessen the cancelling out effect. ( but remember there are 2 types of lime- the quick release and the slow release)
      Now then- that's the ideal ?
      OK- so when you have crops in most of the year , it gets a bit difficult to do that doesn't it?
      My last two sites have had high water tables- so autumn mucking was a waste of nutrients as they would be leached away as the table falls.
      so- the answer was to do both in the Spring- but several weeks apart.
      Spring muck tends to need digging in ( the Autumn muck can be left on the surface for the worms to pull down)and lime sprinkled on the surface so it can be dissolved and washed down.