Jeruselum Artichokes

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jeruselum Artichokes

I am new to veg growing, I 've only had my allotment for a year and most of that time has been spent battling weeds some of which are a completely new species to me!

Anyway enough of my weed related problems. I'm interested in growing Jeruselum artichokes and was wondering if anyone had any good advice.

Are they easy?
    Do they like fairly heavy, clay soil that doesn't really dry out in summer?
    Where do you get them from?
    How many would I need for 4 adults and to share with friends?

If anyone has any helpful advice I would be most grateful.

Welcome Pyewacket! Can't help you with the JAs as I have only just been sent some and will be trying them for the first time this year. I'm sure there will be others along any minute who will answer your questions!
    ~
    Aerodynamically the bumblebee shouldn't be able to fly, but the bumblebee doesn't know that so it goes on flying anyway.
    ~ Mary Kay Ash

Comment

I recieved some from someone on this forum. She has the growing plans for them Mine looked like little piglets. Orders from other plot holders for mine next year are coming in thick and fast. Due to Carol Klien I bet the seed companies will run out of them a bit like that Cooking lady did for free range eggs .
      Benacre
      http://lowestoftnaturalist-benacre.blogspot.com/

Comment

Originally posted by Benacre View Post
        I recieved some from someone on this forum. She has the growing plans for them Mine looked like little piglets. Orders from other plot holders for mine next year are coming in thick and fast. Due to Carol Klien I bet the seed companies will run out of them a bit like that Cooking lady did for free range eggs .
        Benacre

Easy!!!!........

Comment

Ha Ha but they did! ask Supersprout.
          Benacer

Comment

Hi Pyewacket,
            Another vote for easy!