Putting lime in the chicken run

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Putting lime in the chicken run

After recently buying my first chickens, the lady I bought them from told me to put lime over the chicken run once a month to 'clean' it. I have bought garden lime but I have no idea how much to use . Is it common to clean an outdoor run like this? I keep their coop very clean. Thanks.

I think it can be done if you move your run around and let the ground rest for a month or so. I'm not sure I'd be happy having it down fresh where the chickens are still living. I'm fairly new to chicken keeping but I'm sure you'll get advice from the more advanced keepers!
    Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

Lime can be used to kill parasite eggs. If chickens are on the same ground day after day, week after week, the parasite load builds up quickly. You use it by scattering handfuls across the ground to create a dusting, but you should not then return the chickens to the same area for at least a month.

You should also be worming your chickens 3 times a year. We use Flubenvet here in the UK. If chickens are wormed regularly and the run/coop moved onto fresh grass frequently, there should be no need to lime the ground.

Comment

I use a bit of garden lime on my runs when I move the girls on to the alternate run and then rest it for a few months to let the grass and weeds regrow. I tend to do it at the end of each worming course. I also chuck a few buckets of ***** fluid on and let that soak in before putting the lime on. As Richmond says a dusting is enough. I think it's supposed to "sweeten" the run - presumably neutralise it as chicken poo is acid I believe.

Comment

Gosh, thanks everyone. I was apprehensive about putting it down and then letting the chooks run on it. Now to find room for another run!!

Comment